Hit me!

A lot of people recently have asked me about the prototype Steaks padded compression shirt that I showed a video of while I was at MRDA champs.
Steaks Roller Derby Accessories


Questions that have presented around protective gear is: “isn’t that just like American football?” “Why should you get padding? You’ll have the advantage” “That’s not fair” etc, and I understand this thinking and the concerns that arise over this. Since I am so pleased with my shirt, I’ve decided to set the record straight for this particular example. This is a compression shirt with light padding over my sternum and the sides of my rib cage – it will not protect you from all impact, nor stop you feeling any impact. The intelligent Poron XRD material is flexible, soft, and lightweight while at rest. While above the glass transition temperature (Tg) of the composite urethane molecules and under high rate of impact or high velocity impact the urethane molecules in the padding “freeze”. This firms up the material (not hardening, so there is no adverse affect to the instigator of said impact) to form a comfortable protective shell that absorbs and instantly dissipates up to 90% of the impact energy repeatedly over time. I have now worn my steaks for several training sessions and at Men’s European Cup. , I have found the shirt to be incredibly comfortable to wear and after one wear it felt like a second skin, not feeling cumbersome at all. I have happily worn it all day including skating at MEC and I never felt overheated.

Whilst it couldn’t prevent a sprained ankle, the dissipation of force allows me to take hits to my chest and ribs without the usual instant pain or discomfort. These hits are still effective in terms of roller derby play, but keeps my body safer. I’ve also been wearing the shirt in the gym and I am still afforded comfort, flexibility, breathability and range of motion- with the sternum pad acting as a good point of contact for the bar when bench pressing.

Please feel free to drop me a message if you have any questions, as you can tell, I’ve done quite a bit of reading about this product!

One thought on “Hit me!

Leave a Reply

